IMS Awards
Carver Medal
IMS New Researcher Travel Award
IMS ​Hannan Graduate Student Travel Award
Tweedie New Researcher Award
IMS Awards Recipients
  IMS Fellows
Honored IMS Fellows
  IMS Special Lectures
Named Lectures
Wald Memorial Lectures
Blackwell Lecture
LeCam Lecture
Neyman Lectures
Rietz Lectures
Medallion Lectures
Honored IMS Special Lecturers (recipient list)
  IMS/BS Special Lectures
Doob Lecture
Schramm Lecture
Honored IMS/BS Special Lectures
  COPPS Awards
Presidents Award
Fisher Lectureship
Snedecor Award
Scott Award
David Award
Awards Recipients

IMS Awards

Harry C. Carver Medal

Nominations are invited  for the Carver Medal created by the IMS in honor of Harry C. Carver, Founding Editor of the Annals of Mathematical Statistics and one of the founders of the IMS.  The medal is for exceptional service specifically to the IMS and is open to any member of the IMS who has not previously been elected President.  Not more than one award shall be made each year.

The medal will be awarded at a ceremony during the next IMS Annual Meeting.

Nominating Committee

The nominating committee will consist of three former Presidents of the IMS.  Please see Committee for the Carver Medal.

Nomination Process

Send the following via email to include subject line CARVER MEDAL NOMINATION: <last name of nominee>. Items can be sent as pdf, ps or plain text attachments

  1. a letter (not more than 2 pages) detailing the reasons for the nomination

  2. a copy of the nominee's CV

If electronic submission is not possible, please send items to:

Carver Medal Nomination
Institute of Mathematical Statistics
3163 Somerset Dr
Shaker Heights OH 44122


All nominations must be received by February 1.