Search site

IMS arXiv
Electronic access to journals and articles

Probability section
Statistics section
Project Euclid


IMS Journals and Publications

Annals of Statistics
Annals of Applied Statistics
Annals of Probability
Annals of Applied Probability
Statistical Science
IMS Bulletin
Lecture Notes - Monograph Series
NSF-CBMS Regional Conference Series
IMS Collections
IMS Monographs and IMS Textbooks

IMS Co-sponsored Journals and Publications
Current Index to Statistics
Electronic Communications in Probability
Electronic Journal of Probability
Electronic Journal of Statistics
Journal of Computational and Graphical Statistics
Probability Surveys
Statistics Surveys

IMS Affiliated Journals
Observational Studies
Probability and Mathematical Statistics
Stochastic Systems

IMS Supported Journals
ALEA - Latin American Journal of Probability and Mathematical Statistics
Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré
Bayesian Analysis
Brazilian Journal of Probability and Statistics

Call for Nominations: Francisco Aranda ­Ordaz Award

created 22  Apr  2014


The LARC-SLAPEM organizes, every two/three years, a prize to honor the memory of Francisco Aranda­Ordaz, a distinguished young Mexican statistician who died tragically in 1991.  Sponsored by the Bernoulli Society, the  Francisco Aranda­Ordaz Award is bestowed  for one thesis in Probability and one thesis in Statistics written by students from Latin America, regardless of the country of the university offering the degree, or by students from other nationalities who received the degree from a Latin American university. The winners are invited to present their works at the CLAPEM meeting.  

Theses defended during the period of October, 2011 to  April, 2014 are eligible for consideration in this edition of the Award.

  A complete submission consists of:   •     The complete dissertation, submitted in electronic form. •     The official university final exam form, signed by the student's doctoral committee or by other university officials, as appropriate. •     A letter from the thesis advisor stating that he/she agrees to submit the dissertation for consideration of the award committee.    

The official languages of the Award are Spanish, Portuguese, English and French. The Committee will consider other languages as an exception.  

The Award Committee for 2011­2014 is coordinated by Ramsés H. Mena (chair). The Committee will notify the award winners by July 31, 2014. Awardees will be invited to attend the CLAPEM to be held in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, in September 22 ­ 26, 2014 to present their work in a Special Invited Session.  The applicants will be notified by July the 31st 2014.    

Nominations should be sent in electronic form to Ramsés H. Mena (  

Deadline for submission of nominations is May 10, 2014. No exceptions will be made.


Click here to return to IMS News.